E-Bike Legislation For California: What You Need to Know? HOVSCO

E-Bike Legislation For California: What You Need to Know?

Electric bikes, commonly known as e-bikes, are the latest buzz in the town. They are pretty famous among the people of the various regions of California. People are using e-bikes to avoid additional taxes and enjoy sweat-free commuting.

People get attracted to e-bikes due to their speed, convenient availability, and efficiency. These vehicles can sometimes be dangerous, especially when you don't drive carefully.

Also, you have to follow some rules and regulations regarding e-bikes in California to prevent accidents. This blog post will let you know about the laws and regulations about e-bikes in California to stave off any casualty.


California Definition For E-Bikes

As per the law of California of vehicle code (CA), e-bikes are classified as conventional bicycles. Electric bikes shouldn't exceed 750W and must not exceed 28mph on ground level. Moreover, you should know the class and type of your e-bike. It'll tell you where and how you can ride.

For example, Class 3 electric bikes require the rider to wear a helmet in California. Class 2 e-bike users and below can be of any age and can also access pathways meant for cyclists. We can classify e-bikes into three classes.

Let's discuss three classes first:

Class: 01:

Class 1 is classified and provides assistance only when you are walking pedal and stops helping when you reach 20mph - it is excellent for bike paths, bike lanes, roads, or anywhere you take a traditional bike.

Class: 02:

The Class 02 electric bike is provided with a throttle that gives a boost without pedaling and stops stimulating at 20 mph.

Class: 03:

The e-bike that's equipped with a speedometer and can only be assisted until the bike reaches 28mph. That's a fantastic option for commuters. The most favorite categories for e-bikers are class 1 and class 3 because commuters still want to pedal.

Laws For E-Bikes Un California

Various types of e-bikes can be seen on different roads in California. These additional capabilities help customers, pedestrians, and drivers be safe. You need to follow some rules and regulations about e-bikes in California.

Is License or Insurance Required For E-bikes in California?

Electric bike commuters don't have to keep any licenses. But the age of the bike rider should be 16 years and older. Also, your e-bike does not require you to be registered and licensed.

Restrictions on Motor Power and Throttle: In the state of California, your e-bike can not exceed 750 watts.

Age Restrictions

For riding an e-bike in California, your age must be 16 and older. If you're 16+ and want to ride an e-bike, it must reach 28 mph or more.

Riding on the Trails

If you've got a class 3 e-bike, you aren't allowed to ride on any bicycle trail or path, bikeway, equestrian trail, or hiking trail. You are only allowed if the way is adjacent to a roadway or if the governing body or the local authorities of a public agency permit you to ride over the path or allow you to permit them by ordinance.

California's E-bike Trail laws

A few other rules for e-bikes are as follows:

In California State parks, the e-bikes that come under Class 1 and Class 2 may be allowed where you can ride bicycles or unless the paths aren't explicitly prohibited. You can contact California State Parks for further information.

As of the latest law of August 29th, 2019, all-electric bikes up to 750 watts are now allowed in natural parks, Federal Lands, or anywhere an ordinary bicycle can access. National Forests are the exception, the Department of Agriculture manages the forests, and the changes aren't implemented in the forests. Only changes are aligned to Federal land to the latest order.

Is SideWalk Prohibited?

In some states, these e-bikes are prohibited from riding on sidewalks in San Francisco or any state with a particular law banning them. California law also allows local municipalities to make their law for sidewalk bikes. However, these exceptions are only for under-age children. Usually, around 10 or 11, to ride away from traffic. Kids under 16 years old aren't allowed e-bikes.


1. Are E-Bikes Allowed In California?

Yes, E-bikes are allowed on most public roads and trails in California. There are some restrictions in place, such as a maximum speed limit. Whether riding an E-bike or a regular bicycle, always be mindful of other riders and pedestrians and ride responsibly.

2. What Is The Maximum Speed Limit For E-Bikes In California?

The maximum speed limit for E-bikes in California is 20 miles per hour (32 kilometers per hour). This speed limit applies to both pedal-assist and throttle-powered E-bikes. Always be sure to check local signage for any additional restrictions that may be in place.

3. Are Helmets Required For E-Bike Riders In California?

Yes, all cyclists in California are required to wear a helmet when riding. This includes both E-bike riders and regular bicycle riders. They are needed to protect you in case of an accident.

4. Do I Need A License To Ride An E-Bike In California?

No, you do not need a license to ride an E-bike in California. However, you must register your E-bike with the state if it is powered by a motor with more than 750 watts of power.


Abiding by the new e-bike legislation in California is important to avoid getting fined and help keep everyone on the road safe. By understanding the different classifications of e-bikes and knowing where you are allowed to ride them, you can ensure that you are riding legally and safely.

So there you have it! Everything you need to know about the new e-bike legislation in California. Be sure to brush up on the rules before heading out on your next ride, and happy cycling! 

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

此站点受 reCAPTCHA 保护,并且 Google 隐私政策服务条款适用。